Some Advice on Startup?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Skip

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm hoping to be moving to a bigger place in a couple months and once I do, if I have some money lying around, I'd like to set up an aquarium. I've been doing lots of research online, but there are conflicting opinions on some things, and then there are just other things that I'm not experienced enough to know. Of course I'd like to find a good LFS to help me out, but I like to get my ducks in a row before hand and pretend I don't know as much as I do, and if a place answers questions completely and utterly wrong then I know to look elsewhere. Anyway, these are a few of my questions:

What size? I'm leaning towards the largest I can afford and/or have space for to give myself more flexibility.

What filter? I'm leaning towards a biowheel filter appropriate to the size of the tank I get from what I've been reading. However, should I also get a corner filter in addition or would that be overkill? I worked in the computer field for a number of years so I kind of like redundancy.

Planted or not? Is there a significant difference in startup cost between the two options? What's the difference in difficulty? At what tank size would I want to look into a CO2 canister over a DIY setup with 2 liter bottles?

Fish or no fish for cycling? I've read opinions supporting both. Some people seem to think it's either cruel or not good for even hardy fish that can survive it, and others don't. I'm leaning towards no fish, and have heard several methods including clear ammonia, or using fish food or shrimp. Do you just pop in a bit of fish flake every day until the cycle completes? How much do you use? If you use shrimp, do you just buy one from a grocery store and drop it into the tank to let it do its thing? How different is cycling a planted versus non-planted tank?