Starting over....

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

browniecookie

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello! I am new at this hobby, this is my 2nd post. About a month ago I started up my 10g tank after a 48 hr cycle (which I'm learning now that I did totally wrong) and basically all the fish died within 7 days. I've been doing some research and found useful info on how to cycle correctly, I'm just a little confused because the info I have read recently is based on starting a brand new tank. My tank has been running for about a month now, but I haven't had fish (or fish food) in it for several weeks, and I have never performed a water change. After the last one died, I decided to hold off on doing anything to the tank because I would be going out of town and I wanted to figure all this out and do it right :flowers: I'm pretty sure I've got some bacteria in there already.

Anyhoo, I just need to know exactly what to do next. Based on my recent research on this website, I have purchased ammonia, the API test kit, Tetra SafeStart Plus, airstones, air pump, airline......when I first started my tank I only had the gravel, the filter, and the heater, and API Stresscoat. Do I need all of this stuff? Am I missing anything? Should I do a water change (and if so, what percentage) before I start testing and adding ammonia, etc? Should I take out my decorations and wash them since they seem to be covered in fuzz (I think that used to be fish food)?

Thanks for any help!

Hi, I'm also fairly new to this but I got some good advice which might suit your circumstance too. I inherited a 'failed' tank with 3 fish hoping for survival after many had died.