Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
View Poll Results: Filter Options
Hang on back filter 0 0%
Canister filter 0 0%
Voters: 0. You may not vote on this poll

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 05-12-2022, 08:35 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Post Tank Setup

Good morning everyone!

New member here but not a TOTAL newbie to the hobby it has just been a number of years since my last tank. My wife had asked me to refurbish my father in laws 1985 hexagonal 28ish gallon tank (if my math is correct).

I am looking for someone who has experience with hexagon style tanks. I know its not the best tank design for fish but its a sentimental piece that I recently restored to have a happy wife, happy life.

My question is due to the more complex design can someone guide me in purchasing a proper filter and any necessary equipment I might need. (Lighting for hexagons, properly sized bubble systems etc.)

- I bought a 20 - 50 gallon hang on pump (was thinking of saving some money) but im now thinking about just going to get a canister due to the depth of the tank and afraid the intake pump won't be long enough to filter properly. I assume its not good for water current to get a filter that's way to big for the size of the tank.

I am also requesting beautiful exotic freshwater species that will benefit most from a hexagonal design. Seeing if someone knows what exotic species will pair best willing to get them imported and not from my petsmart. I want to keep it on a budget but can spare a few bucks to maintain a good ecosystem.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3052.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	165.9 KB
ID:	323419   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3053.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	147.1 KB
ID:	323420  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3055.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	235.7 KB