Trouble cycling

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jeh-Jeal

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am new to this hobby and this forum and looking for some reassurance I'm doing things right. I've had my 37 gal bowfront aquarium for over 10 days doing a fishless cycle. I put in some ammonia I bought and its the right kind that has no soap. I added a whole bottle of quickstart because I heard you cant overdose a tank with beneficial bacteria. I test my water every other day and my ammonia has been 2 ppm every time. Am I doing this right? I'm trying to be patient but I heard with the quickstart I should be seeing signs in a week or so instead of taking months. Any advice is welcome hope I don't have to start over that would suck.

Sent from my SGH-T999L using Aquarium Advice mobile app

First, did you use a dechlorinator in you water before adding QuickStart. Chlorine will kill BB.
Second, is your Ph above 7 and temp around 80 or above. Too acid or too cold will inhibit BB growth.
Third, and probably the most relevant, is don't believe the write up on bottled BB products. Most are not as efficient as they claim to be. A starter culture from some seeded filter material in your filter is by far the best way to go. Do you know of someone with a tank that can give you some old filter material.
I personally have never had any luck with bottled starters.
However, wait long enough and your tank will cycle eventually.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Thanks Scott yes I've used dechlorinator. I do have a high ph so I may have to get something to lower it. Unfortunately I don't have any friends with aquariums though I found out there is a local aquarium club I'm looking into so maybe I can get some seeded filters. I appreciate your help hopefully I will see results in the next week or so.