Best treatment for Ick and bloated stomach?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fxbillie

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi, I am a newbie to this forum and this is my 1st post after the introduction. I have a problem with fish sick with ick. I am currently using Ick Guard but after 3 days, the white spots are still there with many fish and still spreading. I basically follow the instructions (like 25 % water change before adding new treatment and raising temperature to 80-84F). If the ick does not disappear in 2 more days, I will have to find some other products which work. Do you have success with Ick Guard (from Jungle), or have any recommendations for other products which are safe for fish and plants? I have a 55 gallon community tank with 25% water change weekly. Can't explain where the Ick comes from. Also some female guppies die out of bloated abdomens. Any help for that? I have no hospital tank set up yet. Please help.
Thanks.
Bill

Temp should be 86* if you are using the heat method.
What kind of fish do you have?
I have used QuICK Cure with luck. :) But without plants, and it will stain your stuff. :(
Is your tank cycled?

I have the tank for 3 months and I move the gravel from an older tank to this new one plus 70% of its water. I am not sure if it is cycled yet. But my plants are doing well. How do you tell if it is cycled?