Dead guppy and one fin loss

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Claxton218

Aquarium Advice Newbie
:?: I am an newbie and the tank is only a week and a half old. I lost a guppy yesterday after 24 hours of not looking good hanging out at the top or trying to lie down at the bottom of the tank. He finally died yesterday. When I was pulling him out I also noticed another guppy with its tail fin fraying slightly. This morning, the tail was all but gone. Is this stress? Will it grow back? I added a decoration for the guppies to swim through and was moving the decorations around for a little while after the first guppy died.

Here is the tank situation today:

29 gallon tank not through its first nitrogen cycle
tank started on 2/15/05
fish added on 2/18/05
pH 7.6
Alk 100
NO2 0
NO3 0
Am 0
Hard 100

Fish still alive:

2 long finned gold skirt tetras all males
3 male fancy guppies (just lost one had four and a second with almost no tail fin)

I have not vacuumed yet, but was planning on doing it tomorrow before adding more fish later this weekend.

I was planning on adding 2 female guppies and 2 more tetras this weekend, but I don't want to if they are going to suffer. The poor guppy with almost no tail is now laying at the bottom not looking to happy.

Help!

Thanks,
Claxton

:eek: 8O

Thanks for the quick reply. I will read through the link you posted on the gold skirt tetras. I have not seen the tetras go near the guppies really. I also read somewhere that fin loss can be due to stress. It looks like I will loose the guppy since he is now hiding out. Any reccomendations on avoiding this in the future? When I add more fish, should I add some female guppies and more tetras to balance them out? After this guppy passes, I will be down to 2 guppies and 2 tetras, and looking to add more to the system. Any guidance would be much appreciated.