dying neon

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

xmasangel

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi. I am fairly new to aquariums. Here is my problem. This morning I found one of my neons with its tail stuck on the filter. It was struggling a bit, so I knew it was still alive. I unplugged the filter and carefully helped it out with a net. After being freed, it just kind of sunk and floated around. I got it secluded in a net in the corner of my tank. I didn't throw it out just yet because it looked like it was still breathing. When I went home during lunch, I saw that it was still breathing. It tries to move sometimes, but is just too weak to get too far and so just lays on the net. Is there any way I can help nurse it back to health? This is one of the neons that I either put in on Friday or yesterday. I got replacement fish yesterday for 2 other neons that I had that died through the filter. These are tiny neons. Any ideas or help would be appreciated. I was thinking of buying a small isolation tank from the store later.

One of the best things you can do with your fish is buy a test kit. Aquarium pharm. freshwater master kit comes with everything you need for about $20. Test your water and let us know what your parameters are, most important are pH, nitrate, and ammonia. Also it would be helpful to know your tank size and number/kind of fish. The more information you give, the more we are able to help.

I will say that a filter is rarely the cause of death, fish are strong enough to stay out the current, usually the sick and weakened get pulled into the filter.