Fin ripped Male guppy

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

98kshooter

Aquarium Advice Freak
Come home from work this morning and find one of my Male guppies severely tail ripped. It's so severe the little guy is having trouble even swimming. any Ideas or advice would be welcome.....dont have a Iso-tank but can set one up to save him. Hate to lose him, hes really a show piece in the tank. And dont think anyone else in the tank did it all the other fish are pretty peaceful (Neons tets, guppies Glo-light tets, Bleeding heart tet...and two rainbows. Wondering if the little guy got stuck in a rock will searching fer food.....

Poor lil guy. =(
I don't have any useful advice because I'm a newbie but I'm in the same boat as you. I moved my male guppy to an iso tank because I think it was either another of the guppies that got him or a gbr that has since been returned to the store. (I saw them both giving him a lil chase.) He seems so depressed in the iso tank. I don't think he likes being solo. The couple tail rips my guppies have had returned to normal soon enough but I don't know what the prognosis is if its really torn up. I "think" I see slight improvement in mine but that could be just wishful thinking.
I hope he recovers soon!!
I'll be stalking this thread to see if anyone knows what treatment should be done.

Your Male Guppy