Ich questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Solarris

Aquarium Advice Activist
Ich questions - please help

Alright, I've decided that my dojo loach has ich. There are definitly some whilte spots on him and I've noticed one of my other fish rubbing the side of his body against the gravel and decorations like he's itching. What would be the best treatment? I'm afraid my loach may not have long since he's so lethargic but since i'm new to fish keeping I'm not really sure. I was reading about raising the temp but didnt know if my loaches could survive that high a temp. I also have congo tetras, a rubber lipped pleco, and a rainbow shark (which happens to be the one who looks like he's scratching" ). I've been looking for ich treatment methods but I really have no idea which would be the best way to go.

Definitely ich. I've now noticed it on my pleco. :( I've started raising the temp, hopefully it won't be too high to harm the fish. Next I guess I need to add salt. How much salt should I add to a 55 gallon tank??? I'm really worried about my little friends! Any help would definitely be appreciated.

You should just continue raising the temperature gradually and see how the fish do at temp. of around 85/86 degrees. People say that loaches don't tolerate salt all that well, but from my experience they do just fine with salt. I've had to treat my botia loaches with salt in the past and they did fine. I added a tablespoon of salt per 5 gallons when I did the salt treatment.

Definitely ich. I've now noticed it on my pleco. :( I've started raising the temp, hopefully it won't be too high to harm the fish. Next I guess I need to add salt. How much salt should I add to a 55 gallon tank??? I'm really worried about my little friends! Any help would definitely be appreciated.