Inhabitants of new tank seem very stressed

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

A2Pomo

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Total fish newbie here...I started my first tank a few months ago with three small cherry barbs (one male and two females) and on the recommendation of a local fish store. This fish store is very reputable in my community, but I have also received conflicting information based on which employee I am speaking with. Over the past week, I have upgraded to a 14.5 gallon Fluval aquarium from a 2.6 gallon Spec aquarium.

I have the filter and light operating that came with the Fluval set-up and an appropriate heater for the new size. I also have introduced two new water plants: Java Fern and Pennyworth.

Current inhabitants:

1&2 - Male and female cherry barb that I have for a few months (lost the other original female jumping out of the small tank a few weeks ago).

3 - New male cherry barb (I now know that I made a mistake from a gender balance standpoint getting another male; an example of strange advice from the fish store. But I don't want to introduce any new fish until I get this current tank settled in.)

4. - Two small cory catfish (acquired at the same time as the new male cherry barb).

5. A very tiny snail (apparently, an accidental "gift with purchase" of the java fern).

I have repeatedly been told by the fish store that my water is in good shape, though they didn't give me specific numbers. I bought a home test kit and it shows my PH as being on the low end of normal, my GH and KH as low, and my NO2, NO3, and CL2 as all being at 0. These are the color coded type strips, so I can't give exact numbers. My tank is currently at approximately 71 degrees, which is where the thermostat consistently was in my old tank, as well.