New member with aquarium disease problem

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tygrace

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello everyone!

I am an old school aquarium enthusiast from way back. My tank is 32 years old, although it has been moved MANY times! I almost never have disease problems. In fact, over the years there have been times in my life where I have totally ignored my tank for a week or more at a time, with no negative issues.

I have a 55 community tank. I have a low grade bacterial infection, but I do not know enough to determine if it is gram pos or gram neg. I have been treating with Melafix off and on for 2 months. The symptoms still persist, taking about 1 fish every 2 weeks. The fish appear to be very healthy: active, eating, fins at full sail, but then they show a white bump or growth, (usually around right pectoral joint), and then holes or pockets around head or face.

I have scaleless fish and vegetation I must protect. What medication would you prescribe?

Please help!
Tammy

Last edited by a moderator:
Welcome aboard. We are glad you found us here at AA. :welcome:

Moved to FW unhealthy fish forum.

To me, it sounds more like your fish are suffering from Hole in the Head disease to me. This is a disorder that is caused by the fish not receiving proper nutrition in their food (at least I believe that is correct), you might want to research that.

As for the bacteria being gram positive or gram negative - determining that requires a fairly simple test, but it does require that you have the proper tools and stains on hand to test - bunsen burner or alcohol burner, slide, petri dish, agar, incubater, and four specific chemical solutions; Grams iodine solution, crystal violet stain, alcohol, and safranin stain. Not usually something the typical hobbiest has on hand.