Swim Bladder Disease?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

evalmore

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello everyone,

I just recently (yesterday) brought home a new Shubunkin for my small coldwater tank. This morning when I woke up, he was swimming on his side and his swimming was somewhat twitchy. He's still able to swim all around the tank and isn't stuck floating at the top or bottom of the tank, so I'm hoping this is a good sign. I'm very new at fish owning (this I my first tank) and I don't know what I should do for my fish! I've read a few threads about Swim Bladder Disease and it looks like that might be what he has. The threads I read on Swim Bladder Disease said something about not feeding him for a day or so, and because of that I haven't fed him at all today. I have two very small common goldfish in the same tank and they aren't displaying any signs of distress like the Shubunkin. Is there anything I can do for the poor thing or should I expect the worst?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for reading and weighing in.

Here are some pictures of the poor thing. Sorry if they aren't very clear, like I said he's still swimming around and not staying still, which I hope is a good sign.

Attachments

• image-1220564022.jpg
    image-1220564022.jpg
    131.8 KB · Views: 73
  • image-3903222466.jpg
    image-3903222466.jpg
    144 KB · Views: 79
  • image-3550544582.jpg
    image-3550544582.jpg
    142.8 KB · Views: 67
I will ask you some answers so it will be easier for us to assist you:

-Size of the Aquarium

-Food's feeded

-Tank Temperature

-Beginning of Illness symptoms

-Exact fish behavior

-Water Parameters

Alright. I'll answer as best as I can, but like I said this is my first tank ever and I haven't had it for long.

Aquarium size - 1.5 gallons

Foods fed- They get "Tetra" Goldfish Flakes twice daily