220G reef build, sump and stand build

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ShadowNoob

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Lets try this again and see if this thread doesn't get deleted

Well for starters I am new to saltwater aquariums. This will actually be my first saltwater build. I had just did a 100 fresh but got rid of it. I am going to be building this over the next year or so little by little. I just had a kid May 1st so not really much time or money to complete this in one shot. so far i have some what started on the stand. well it was a stand i started when i first thought about making a saltwater I'm just gonna modify it a bit. Ill post pictures up of the current stand in a bit. I'm going to be building almost everything myself so ill post pics up here every time i get or add something and any advice that anyone gives will be appreciated.

Any thoughts on improvement is welcomed so far i have planned to frame the 2 sides and the front with 2 door cutouts for when i put the sump in there. Im also going to put molding on the top part about 2" past it so the tank will have a snug fit in there ignore the color on top of there that looked like a dark cherry color when i bought it but for some reason it came out darker then it was suppose to so i need to find a new color for the stain. I plan on coating the whole interior with polyurethane for protection purposes and throwing some silicone on edges once i get the shelf bored cut out.
Would a 55 gal tank be big enough as a sump or will i need something bigger? If i do what would be good dimensions for it? Also from what iv been reading its good to have it so your water turn over rate is somewhere between 6-10 times. If this is correct anybody have a good commendation for a good water pump?

Attachments

• DSC00179.jpg
    DSC00179.jpg
    203.5 KB · Views: 223
  • DSC00180.jpg
    DSC00180.jpg