Calling all DIY, want input on PC retro idea

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Brisc0

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Okay, here is the scoop. I am setting up a new aquarium and already have a Custom Sealife 48" PC/moon-lite it has 2X65W 10K's and 2X65 watt blues. I have since decided that I want to put a halide bulb in the mix, but have no room up top for halide. So im looking for any input regarding ditching one of the 65W 10K bulbs and mounting a single 250W halide retro kit in its place. I have no experience with Halide and don't know if it will be okay to have a "resting on glass" light fixture with halide that close, etc. Any input would be great. Thanks everyone!

outer envelope of a metal halide bulb reaches about 500 degrees F ... it shouldn't be resting on anything or have anything withing 2" of it

also, if your tank is 4ft across, you'll have a bright area surrounded by shadow without using 2 MH bulbs.

Okay, thanks for the info, I guess that idea is not going to work. If you have any suggestions for me on any kits or fixtures that would allow me to squeeze a 175 at each end I would appreciate it. I have a wooden canopy over the tank. If possible I could mount a braket into the front of the canopy where it opens and hook the lights up there. However I guess a 500 degree reflector bolted to a piece of wood isn't a good idea. Oh well, anyone has suggestions im all ears.

Thanks.

well, mh and wood can get along as long as you observe a few things.

the envelope of the bulb is 500 degrees, but that heat is pretty much trapped there - the air around the bulb keeps it well insulated - what you end up with is about 150 degrees of radiant heat, most of which bounces off your reflector and into your tank.

the rest needs to vented out of the light fixture somehow.