DIY budget LED experiment

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Saratj1

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Ok ,I've started buying some parts online to make my own led lighting. I'm not an engineer master fabricator, or even really handy.

Ive decided to use 3 10w LEDs because they seem to provide the best bang for the buck. (so far cost is going to be around $25 per 10w of led, so $75 total)
I have one of the emitters already and thought I had a driver as well, but bought the wrong type of driver. I read the description of the driver as a 10 driver, but didn't read that it powers 4-12 individual 1w emitters.
It was only about $8 so not too bad of a mistake and may be able to use it down the road.

Here is a rough mock up of what I'm trying to do.

image-3452900942.jpg

I got a good deal on a driver for three 10w emitters. Hopefully the right one this time.

I also bought 2 more emitters that are just like the emitter in the pic ( notice that it has 9 diodes ) except they will have 2 rows of actinic blue with one row of 15k white.

image-3218026303.jpg

This is the 10w 20k white led that I have.

image-3942980427.jpg

This is the driver, that isn't right. It works it just causes the emitter to flash like a strobe light.

I also have a lens that I may use, but I'm not sure. I only have one lens . I don't know if I will need optics or not, it may complicate things and drive up costs, or it may make it a great DIY fixture. So I don't know about the lens just yet.

Here's a pic of the lens:

image-3389578359.jpg

I also have a bunch of computer heatsinks so I'm going to try to use them for cooling.

image-3483222317.jpg

I will try to update this thread as I make progress. If anyone has any tips or tricks I'd love to hear them. I'd also answer any questions. Thanks for looking.