Sump help!!!! For turle tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fishface23

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I just got a 250 gal tank, it has predrilled holes however, I'm gonna use it for my two 8"red ear sliders. I thinking and adding a 55 gal sump..I'm new to sumps ...so does anyone have any ideas on the equipment that I'm gonna need as well as the design ( also since it's a turtles tank it wont be filled completely to the top

Turtle tanks can be completely full, they can handle deep water. I would only keep the water lower if that is the best option for getting them a proper basking area.

Does it have a built-in overflow or just drilled with bulkheads?

I would not run just a sump, it won't give you enough of the right filtration.The best option in my experience would definitely be to run a pump from the sump to a pond filter that has a backwash option. It is not the cheapest option, but when it comes to filtering 250 gallons of turtle tank, it is the only option. It will allow you to clean the filter without touching it. Just turn off the pump, turn the lever, turn the pump back on and let it run until the water comes out clear again, turn the pump off, turn the lever back, and turn the pump back on, that is it.

Thankxx ..yea the tank has dual built-In overflow....does that change anything

It just makes it harder to have lower water levels. You would have to drill the overflows to allow the water to run lower. If it all possible I keep turtle tanks open-topped with their basking area in the middle so they have no leverage to get out. This gives them more water and room to swim.

I would still run a small pond filter. We used the Aqua UV Ultima II bead filters on the systems at work, I am spoiled now. That is definitely the filter I want on my dream tank.