Amazon Swords declining

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

soulgraft

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi all,
I am new to aquariums. Though I have had my 20g tank for a year, I have not spent as much time learning and working with it as I should have. Anyway, I have planted amazon swords, which have been slowly declining. Although nothing is obviously wrong, the leaves are getting smaller and smaller over time with hardly any stems. I have low light (28 w) and am not dosing with any fertilizers. The fish load is light - 3 otocincluses and 4 tetras. I have recently had a major cyanobacteria outbreak, which seems to be under control now. However, there are still some sheets on the substrate, which I could not remove. The sword's decline has been happening before the outbreak as well. Any thoughts? It is sad to see plants slowly withering away. Many thanks! :(

Have you changed your bulbs(s)?

Welcome to AA! :)

Hi, - thank you for the welcome!
Yes, I have recently changed the bulbs. I don't know whether that matters, but my water has pretty high pH even though the tap water is neutral.

Swords are heavy feeders, so need a rich substrate. If you are planting in plain gravel, some root tabs might help.

I'm not sure if it helps much on a 20 gallon with 1 bulb which seems like any way you do it is going to be low light unless its t5h0, but I'm trying out a 6700K bulb. The 6000s seem to be the spectrum plants do good in, or so I hear.

+1 jsoong on substrate and root tabs. I think another thing to consider about the gravel you already have is the size of it too. One of the main reasons I got some laterite (not the best from what I hear) was just so that rooting plants would have something a tad better to actually grab onto.