Attaching plants to artificial decorations

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SpeedEuphoria

Aquarium Advice Addict
Well I guess the title sums it up OK. basically I'm somewhat new to this hobby. I have read that it could be possible to have plants attach to fake decorations if they are not totally smooth. Just looking to see if this is possible or a good idea. For plants I'm sure it prob depends on which type, so for conversation I'm talking about Java Ferns and Java Moss.

For me I have a decent sized artificial log/tree that has holes and fake plants attached. I cut one part of the fake plant off and tied some Java Fern to it hoping it would grab onto it. Then if it did I would remove the other fake plant on it and attach another Java Fern growth.

Now that I'm getting more into this hobby and since I have such a small tank and desire more plants, I'm thinking that later on I will prob remove this decoration and get some driftwood or more natural decorations instead(rocks/clay pots/ect..). So I would hope that if I needed to i could remove the ferns and replant or relocate. I think this should be only an issue of being careful and taking my time, so to not tear up or disturb the plant as much as possible.

Thanks again everyone for your input

Last edited:
I know people tie plants onto driftwood all the time. You're probably right about the fact that some plants work better this way than others, but Java moss has no roots anyway, and readily attaches to objects just fine. Good luck, and post some pics of your progress for us so we can follow along :)