co2 assistance please

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fishman888888

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hey guys

I hooked up my co2 on friday.... im completely new to co2

Im assuming im probly diffusing too much right now.... my ph has dropped

Its at 6.4 now...its usually slightly above 7...
some of my fish started to flash..
Im not down with the ph swing.

Ammonia: 0
Nitrite: 0
Nitrate: <5

I have some co2 measuring device but its all in chinese...fml...dont even know how to use it lol

Im assuming i should lower the amount of co2...

Will doing a w/c raise the ph?

I dont want it to keep swinging

Ideas?

Do you have a drop checker?? Bubble counter??

First of all you want your co2 on a timer. You want it to come on 1 maybe 2 hours before photoperiod and turn off before lights out. Co2 running all day is a waste and dangerous to fish

If you have a bubble counter, start off 1-2 bubbles per second. Then adjust as necessary. Plants pearling throughout photoperiod is a good indication.

If you have a drop checker with the correct indicator fluid this will help you setup your co2 amounts. Drop checker solution will be blue with little co2, green with perfect co2 and yellow with too much co2. You want to aim for a lime green towards the end of your photoperiod. An important thing to remember with drop checkers is that the solution wont change colour immediately. It takes a while to change. Therefore the colour showing is normally the conditions from 30-60mins previous. Use this indicator along with bubble counter to set co2 levels.

As for pH swings. Co2 will always lower pH as its acidic in its chemistry make up. What is your kH levels of your tank?

A good kH will prevent pH swings because of the buffering capabilities

Hope this helps and good luck

Thank you sooo much

I was unaware tthat i needed to turn it off.