Corkscrew Vals?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
G

About 2 months ago I started my first planted tank, 29 gal.

I bought a coralife fixture 36 watts with a 10,000k daylight bulb About 1.2 watts per gal/no CO2 injection yet.

I was under the impression that they were low light but I am not sure as I am a newbie to the planted world.

I bought 4. 3 of them have not grown at all and 1 in the back is HUGE. It appears that my light is evenly spread. Does anybody know why one could have grown so much under low light and the rest have stayed the same? This appears very strange to me.

Thanks

I think they are medium light plants. Since you don't have CO2, you might want to try dosing Flourish Excel. The corkscrew vals are one of the vals that are not affected by Excel, and won't melt away. Do you have anacharis? If you do, then you may not want to dose Excel, as they will also melt. One last thing to get is Potassium. You may need to dose Potassium to help in the plants uptake of the other nutrients. You could even place root tabs under the roots to see if that will help. Just a couple pointers to help out. I've got them going under both medium and high light, and they just grow out of control. They get to about 6 inches max. But spread like wild-fire.

How did I know it would be you LWB. Always appreciate your advice. I just ordered some tablets from BigAls.

I have two other concerns if you could or anybody else could help.

#1 My light/dark period for photosynthesis is very off. I wake up for college at 6am, turn my lights on, and I am not home from school/work til 11pm. I shut the lights off at 11:10pm and their on at 6am. Should I invest in a timer? Too much light?