First Planted Aquarium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Flipmikeskater3

Aquarium Advice Freak
this is my first attempt to a planted aquarium, everything is going great so far

What do you guys think?
It's a 29 gallon aquarium
I used caribsea Eco-complete under my gravel
I only have a 17 watt, 20" zoo med flora sun max plant growth t8 bulb

For livestock
-14 neon tetras
-5 harlequin rasboras
-5 serape tetras
-4 cory catfish
-1 male Betta

So do you think I need more light?
Is the fish selection good?
Also so I look into a DIY co2 dispenser?
How long to leave my bulb on each day?
Any fertilizers I should look into?

Thanks guys

Attachments

• image-2825617073.jpg
    image-2825617073.jpg
    159 KB · Views: 88
Looks really really good. You did a fine job. Lights on 8 hours a day. Look into pps-pro dosing, it's getting a lot of recommendations on here. I just started using it as well. Also, look into some flourish excel for a source of carbon. Maybe some root tabs if you have any heavy root feeders. You can mess with co2 injection if you want, but I think your tank looks great and would do just fine as low tech.

https://www.sites.google.com/site/aquaticplantfertilizer/home

Edit: be careful with the excel though, it tends to actually melt some plants, mainly Val's along with some few others. A quick google search will give you an idea of which ones so you can compare to your plant list.

As for light... are your plants growing well now? Better lighting will always get better growth if there is CO2 or liquid carbon use along with a good fertilizing regime. So if you want to spend the money to upgrade on lights then go for it.