hair type algae invading my tank!!!!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

matthewsmith1983

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey guys I'm pretty new to planted tanks but up to now I've been having success, however now I'm getting this hair algae invading all my plants!.

Does anybody have experience of this and how I could possibly correct it as its becoming an eyesore :-(

Any advice would be greatly appreciated :)

Thanks.

Oooo sorry the tank has been up and running for around four and a half months. It has five skunk Cory, two peppered Cory, one Rafael catfish, three zebra loaches, six congos, one male and one female bosemani rainbowfish and six madagascan rainbows. Its at the limit with fish, possibly slightly overstocked but I do around 25/30 percent water change every week and have 1 death so far which was a skunk cory :-(

Its a 200l tank. I dose with flourish excel as stated on bottle and my plants are growing pretty well.

All levels of Ammonia, nitrite and nitrate are fine and ph stays around 7.0.

All my fish even in other tanks are feed new era food except for my dwarf puffers.

I have two standard t5 tubes and that seems to be doing the trick. No co2 injection either.

I hope this is enough info for you guys to help out thanks.

Oh and could somebody tell me what the purple leafed plant is?. I bought it a few days ago and I think its lovely!.

Substrate is aquabasis with manado substrate on top.

Thanks

Matt

Attachments

• ForumRunner_20121127_152135.jpg
    ForumRunner_20121127_152135.jpg
    61.1 KB · Views: 106
  • ForumRunner_20121127_152213.jpg
    ForumRunner_20121127_152213.jpg
    63.7 KB · Views: 107
  • ForumRunner_20121127_152223.jpg
    ForumRunner_20121127_152223.jpg
    64.3 KB · Views: 101
  • ForumRunner_20121127_152236.jpg
    ForumRunner_20121127_152236.jpg
    64.7 KB · Views: 98