Injecting CO2 in a softwater tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

yhbae

Aquarium Advice Activist
My water is pretty soft, at 2 KdH. In my community tank, pH is very stable at 7.4. (This means super low CO2 level).

I'd like to add some more attractive plants, as all I have are java moss and java fern.

I've been reading up on building DIY CO2, and now I've convinced myself to build one.

The only thing that worries me is the pH. I studied the chart that shows the relationship between KH, pH and CO2 levels. At my KH, the pH level could seriously drop if I inject some CO2... I suppose I can compensate that by adding more KH (baking soda/crushed coral), but how do you ensure that the level stays constant? I don't want to be measuring pH every day just to keep nice plants alive!

On further note, I believe all of my species in the tank can handle lower pH except for one - platies. Would this be correct?

Species list:

- Platies
- Harlequin Rasboras
- Blue Rams
- Panda Cories
- Bristlenose Pl*cos

Appreciate any feedback.

I can confirm your last suspicion. Platies are generally a harder water/higher pH species. They thrive in water with a pH between 7 and 8.

Mind you, a sudden drop in pH is good for no species, even those which prefer acidic water.

My suggestion! Are you (ethically or otherwise) opposed to using certain chemicals in your tank? I'm not... though this only applies to an extent. I use a great buffering solution called "Neutral Regulator" by SeaChem. It keeps my planted tank's pH at 7 rain or shine.