Plantex CSM+B Plus Extra Iron or Plantex CSM+B

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tazcrash69

Aquarium Advice Regular
OK, I'm about to order all my dry ferts from Greg Watson, and want to know if I should get the Plantex CSM+B Plus Extra Iron instead of the plain Plantex CSM+B.
I'm new to dosing with ferts, and want to know about any drawbacks to having:
a) too much Iron
b) too little iron
(Which is worse for algae?)
And what is the easiest way to dose iron if I get the plain.
I don't have an Fe test kit, but I do have hard water if that is an indication of Iron.
Sorry, Also I'll be running aboutr 3 or watts per gallon, flourite, and presurized Co2

Thanks

IME, it is difficult to adequately dose iron with standard Plantex CSM+B. I've been supplementing mine with chelated iron for about a year now and I've never had any problems. If you've got hard water you may experience even further difficulties supplementing iron as it tends to precipitate out of solution more readily at higher pH levels. I don't think you can go wrong with the Extra Iron formula.

I agree with Travis and have been very happy with CSM+B+extra Fe. If you're the experimenting type, pick up chelated iron from Greg too, as its fun to mess with. Under high light I think too little iron is a bigger problem than too much iron, as Fe deficiency can be common, and as long a you keep macros in balance Plantex is hard to overdose. It's three times more than what I feel comfortable dosing, but I read recently that Greg doses to 1ppm Fe from CSM+B with extra iron with no ill effects :!: