Plants to create short grass carpet

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

M1cky69

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi guys I'm trying to create q grass carpet in my 7.9 gallon fluval ebi shrimp tank but I'm stumped on what plants to use, I will be using compressed co2 So that's not a problem and I got an 11w light unit but am going to purchase a second to up the wpg. Here is a pic of what I got so far, I'm trying for a tree aquascape.

Attachments

• image-1074395258.jpg
    image-1074395258.jpg
    38.8 KB · Views: 222
  • image-3305667454.jpg
    image-3305667454.jpg
    46.1 KB · Views: 255
Would you not consider imitation grass? A lot easier and just as effective in a small tank imo?

dudeofrude said:
Would you not consider imitation grass? A lot easier and just as effective in a small tank imo?

Sorry im new to the fish scene, what sort do you mean? I would like as natural habitat as possible.

Dwarf hairgrass will give you the most grass-like appearance. Glosso will stay short if you have enough light, but it's more clover-like.

Small tanks like this one don't really follow the Wpg guidelines very well. You'll need more Wpg to attain the high-light tank needed for good carpeting.

BigJim said:
Dwarf hairgrass will give you the most grass-like appearance. Glosso will stay short if you have enough light, but it's more clover-like.

Small tanks like this one don't really follow the Wpg guidelines very well. You'll need more Wpg to attain the high-light tank needed for good carpeting.

Well I'll be doubling the light so I'll have 22w for 7.9 gallon. Would that be enough? I heard dwarf baby tears are good for most lighting too, this plant good for this? Thanks for the replies guys!

dudeofrude said: