Bulkhead size and yielded GPH...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Flaxon-Waxon

Aquarium Advice Addict
How many GPH will a 1 3/8" bulkhead hole yield? I need to know what size return pump to get for my sump? Thanks.. Need any other info, please ask... Brand new to sumps! :cool:

Are you not using a pvc pipe? The gph is dictated by the size of the pipe. Is this 1" pvc? Also, is this for a return pipe going from your sump to DT or overflow coming back into your sump?

Now we're talkin thanks Rick... So my LFS is gonna knock out 2- 1 3/8" holes in the back of my tank a couple inches down from the water line. It's a 75 gallon. I'm new to this plumbing stuff so please bear with me. If the holes for the downpipe and return pipe, how big should the PVC be?

Are they including bulkheads? If not, you need to make sure that 1 3/8" is appropriate for the bulkheads you get. I'm guessing that would be for 1" PVC, so you can figure in about 600gph for each... assuming you've got a relatively straight path down to the sump. Might be best to assume 500gph each and match the pump w/ head height pretty close to that.

What kind of overflow box are you using? Your description almost makes it sound like they're just going to drill 2 holes anywhere in the back. You need to make sure that they drill them in the appropriate area for your overflow boxes so that your water line isn't way too low or too high.

No the holes wont be just anywhere. Wont 1 hole be the down pipe and the other for the return? That's what I was planning on anyways. And I can't stand overflow "boxes"... Was going to do a 90 degree PVC bend facing up with a guard on it so nothing gets sucked in...?

Yes, great call on using elbows and strainers. I can't stand the box look either. Takes so much space up.