Lighting w/ glass hood

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

loganizzi

Aquarium Advice Activist
I just started a 45gal FOWLR setup 1 month ago. Today I lost the original hood/lighting set up (basic plastic hood w/ single 24" florescent bulb), so I'm looking to replace this. Eventhough I am new to salt water I'm thinking that within a year I'll probably want to start adding corals and other invertebrates. Which makes me believe I should upgrade the lighting today. Here is my dilemma:

I'm looking at the Coralife Aqualight Deluxe Series 36" Dual strip light. If I use this light, I'll need to add some sort of cover/hood for the tank, since my previous light had the hood built in. I looked at the plain old glass cover (two panes with a rubber hinge and plastic cutout section along the back), but it seems to me that if I were to use this with the light I would not be able to open the glass. This is because I have some equipment hanging off the back which will require me to place the light fixture where it will straddle the glass hinge. The inside frame dimensions of my aquarium are roughly 35" by 11 1/2"

I can't imagine that I am the first to run into this sort of obstacle, so if someone could point me to a workaround that would be great.

Also, is there any danger to the fish or live rock if I dont replace the light for up to a week? (Do I need to rush to find a solution?)

Thanks for your advice,

-Chris

Some of the coralline may start to die off of you live rock with no light. However no light will not affect you denitrifing bacteria in the rock, and it should not affect you fish either. When you plan to work in the tank or open the lid, why not take the light off? It should be light enough to move around.

PS www.hellolights.com has great prices on pc lighting fixtures.