Live Rock

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

blackhorse

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm just starting out with my first tank ever. Wondering if someone could
explain the benefits to having live rock. Is it a necessity to have live rock? Something we could add down the road? Were thinking about maybe taking it slow. Right now we are cycling with raw shrimp. After thats completed, maybe get 1-3 clown fish. BTW we do have live sand in there now.

The The Berlin Method of filtration article covers it.

Mostly just think of the lr as an in tank filter which your bacterial colony resides in. With proper water movement (15-20 times tank volume) it pushes the water through the lr filtering out the nh3/no2 and once mature even no3.

Main advantage is since it's in the tank and not external i.e. sump/canister/ect... a good clean up crew (snails/hermits/sea stars/ect...) can keep the lr clean thus reducing your maintenance and enjoy the tank more.

Other advantage is lr typically comes with tons of other live hitchhikers that are usually beneficial.

I agree. Liverock is something I would add before you got any livestock. And it's generally best to add it all at once. If money is an issue you can mix base rock and live rock together.

I agree with the others. LR will also allow for fish to set up their territories and give them a place to hide, sleep and feel safe.

If I buy the live rock now or after the cycling has taken place will it still be ok? I'm on day 2 or 3 of cycling with shrimp. My ppm of ammonia is now at 1.

I have one piece of "brain coral(?)" in there now. Doesn't this work sort of like the live rock? Can I buy both live and base rock now and put in with the coral I have?