Fishless Cycling - Ammonia not dropping

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

oceanblue

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi,

I’m new to aquarium hobby. When my son wanted to have a pet, I walked into a local pet store and
bought a 10 gallon Aqueon basic kit, without knowing anything about nitrogen cycle. The pet store owner gave a pamphlet about the nitrification process and recommended to start the cycle with 2 feeder fish. First the fish were infected with fungus, and eventually died in 2 weeks. When I was reading about the fungus, I came to know about fishless cycle. After my fish died I started with fishless cycle

• Dosing about 4ppm of ammonia (bought from Ace store) ever other day
  • The heater set to 85 F
  • Adding (TopFin) bacterial supplement during water top-up/change
  • Testing the water parameters after adding ammonia
Nitrite started building up in about 2 weeks, and ammonia was dropping to zero in 24 hrs after dosing 4ppm. The cycling process was going fine since recently, here is my reading for last one week
Ammonia - 1ppm
Nitrites - 5ppm
Nitrate - 20ppm
I lastly dosed my tank a week ago and did pwc twice.

Finally the nitrites dropped to zero today, nitrate is at about 40ppm, however my ammonia is still at 1ppm.

I’m into 23rd day of my fishless cycle. Is this a normal process? Can the ammonia show readings when the nitrites are reading zero? Did I kill my ammonia > nitrite bacteria somewhere in the process? Thanks for all your comments and suggestions.

API test kits are not always 100% accurate
take a sample of your tank water to your pet store
ask them to test it for you I know they would be glad to help

welcome to AA

Ph is about 8.2,will that cause any issues?

Anyhow I'll get the water tested from a local store. Thanks!