new and want to learn

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ginty

Aquarium Advice Freak
hello guys. thanks for having me. im new to this. ive had a tank for a month. i have 2 white clouds and 2 platys. in a couple of years my aim is to have a tropical tank, but for now i have them in a fresh water tank, as the pets at home (a uk pet store) staff recommended this to me as these fish are temperate fish.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

oh i forgot to mention im from london england.

hello guys. thanks for having me. im new to this. ive had a tank for a month. i have 2 white clouds and 2 platys. in a couple of years my aim is to have a tropical tank, but for now i have them in a fresh water tank, as the pets at home (a uk pet store) staff recommended this to me as these fish are temperate fish.

Hi ginty, by the way my daughter married a great guy from Manchester .
My advice to you , first - don't make anything into a science project ! Keep things simple . Having a freshwater tank is easy . Understand the nitrogen cycle .
I find a canister filter works best . Maintain stable water parameters , PH , temperature . Stay with friendly community fish . Stay away from aggressive , territorial type fish , it's upsetting to see fish getting picked on and stressful to watch .
It's best to get the biggest tank your budget will allow . The initial cost is always hi , the enjoyment you will get from this hobby is priceless .
Adding aquatic plants is fun and natural for fish ,adds beauty and helps with water quality . Start out with hardy plants such as java fern .
Just remember keep it simple , don't make it into a science project ! Enjoy !

Hi, welcome to the forum :)

Hi Shellyx, thank you , my first time on here . This app is going to be fun and helpfull, educational to say the least .