46 Gallon Filter options

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

PK Tester

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hey all...I believe it has been settled that I will be going with a 46 gallon hex from oceanic...

Im thinking of going with ... one

Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel 330

would this be a enough?

My other option (I would really not like to spend this much)

is a canister filter...either a fluval 304 or RENA Filstar XP 2 Canister Filter

or an Eheim Filter 2213 - Plus Kit...they are all in $80 range...but the Marineland Penguin 330 is nice because its only in the $30 range.

I have never worked with a canister filter before...

I really would like to go with the powerfilter if at all possible to keep the cost down...

What do you guys think?

Go filter ... i have an ehiem 2213 cannister for my 50 gallon and it is the best thing since sliced bread. They are fairly simple to work ... just clean it once a month and you are good to go. Then again, that is what works for me. The emperor 330 is nice, but the bio-load in the tank may be too much for it, plus the bio wheel has to become mature for it to be fully effective (that means cycling your tank for about a month or more). That is just my opinion.

Scracth the penguin

I mean to put the emperor bio-wheel 400

How limited would my bioload be on with an emperor 400??

Also would a 275 or 300 wat heater be fine for this?

Sometimes the room where the aquarium is going to go can be colder...so I want a bigger heater.