Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-07-2013, 03:54 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Sidman24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 752
Aqueon water changer ??

So I got one of these and I think I might be doing something wrong. I hook up everything correctly. At least I think. I make sure all the valves are tight and for some reason my suction isn't strong at all! Even when the sink is on full blast. I have sand substrate and it can barely suck up the poop and waste from the bottom if any. It does fine sucking up water but nothing else. Is it suppose to be like this?? Before I would just use tubing to suck out all the waste instead of using a gravel vac so I don't get all the sand in there. Please help! Thanks

__________________
Sidman24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 04:26 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
phishfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: VIRGINIA BEACH,VA
Posts: 1,527
I have a 50 footer and have a similar "slow flow" issue. The problem for me is simply. The long distance the water has to travel combined with the fact that draw and discharge points are almost at the same height lvl means me water pressure is powerful enough to cause a strong draw. My tank is about 35 feet from the kitchen sink I use. The tank sits a bit higher that counter height.

I have thought about making some type of rig with a impeller pump to increase draw pressure but not sure its worth the hassle.

If you have a flow regulator in you faucet (insert that fits inside the faucet end) usually has a plastic housing. Removing it can increase water flow out of the faucet. which would increase the suction slightly.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
phishfriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 04:29 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Sidman24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 752
Mine is 50 foot also. My tank is also a little higher then the sink. Could this be it :/
__________________
Sidman24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 05:37 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ian086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Drogheda, Ireland
Posts: 3,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sidman24 View Post
So I got one of these and I think I might be doing something wrong. I hook up everything correctly. At least I think. I make sure all the valves are tight and for some reason my suction isn't strong at all! Even when the sink is on full blast. I have sand substrate and it can barely suck up the poop and waste from the bottom if any. It does fine sucking up water but nothing else. Is it suppose to be like this?? Before I would just use tubing to suck out all the waste instead of using a gravel vac so I don't get all the sand in there. Please help! Thanks
I have a similar issue too. I'm thinking of getting a small external pump and using that for removing the water.....
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Ian086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 10:05 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Gizzepi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 21
I just bought a marineland 1100 pump to suck out water and fill tank up with water i prepared in a tub it makes life real easy
__________________
Gizzepi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 10:37 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ian086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Drogheda, Ireland
Posts: 3,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gizzepi View Post
I just bought a marineland 1100 pump to suck out water and fill tank up with water i prepared in a tub it makes life real easy
Can you post a picture of it or a link. I'm not sure what type to get....
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Ian086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 02:31 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
ole scratch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 61
Also depends on your water pressure. The first 1 I had was a 50 ft and did great in Conway Arkansas. The same one in Wichita Falls Texas is junk. Water pressure in the house here is low. That seriously reduces the venturi effect. Be careful if u decide to build a pump for suctioning. Use the weakest pump that will get the job done.
__________________
ole scratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 02:44 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
phishfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: VIRGINIA BEACH,VA
Posts: 1,527
I think the easiest fix would be a drill pump like this one. The mechanics use them on the boat yard. just attach to the siphon and your drill and let it rip!

SELF-PRIMING DRILL PUMP (JABSCO)

Provides a very versatile means of transferring fluid almost anywhere an electric drill with 1/4" to 3/8" chuck can be operated. Pumps up to 3-1/2 gpm, self-priming to 3', 1/4" diameter shaft, supplied with 3/4" garden hose thread port adapters, connections for 1/2" ID hose and 3/4" GHT female threaded fittings. Size: 3-5/16" L x 3-1/2" W x 2-3/16" H. Model 17215 includes drain hose and suction tube.

Manufacturer: RULE
Manufacturer Part #:172500003
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
phishfriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 09:54 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Gizzepi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 21
. Here is a link to the pump
__________________
Gizzepi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 09:58 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ian086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Drogheda, Ireland
Posts: 3,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gizzepi View Post
. Here is a link to the pump
Link not showing
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Ian086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 10:11 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Gizzepi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian086 View Post
Link not showing
http://www.amazon.com/Marineland-NJ1.../dp/B0019IQKJW
__________________
Gizzepi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 11:20 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 670
294 GPHi s a very slow pump if you have a big aquarium. Do you guys live an apt. where you cant drain it outside? If not, just drain the water the lawn or outside and when done use it to fill the aquarium.
__________________
Rare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 12:17 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
phishfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: VIRGINIA BEACH,VA
Posts: 1,527
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rare View Post
294 GPHi s a very slow pump if you have a big aquarium. Do you guys live an apt. where you cant drain it outside? If not, just drain the water the lawn or outside and when done use it to fill the aquarium.

Have you try to start a siphon on a 50 hose!?! Its not going to happen with lung power thats for sure. Lol The pump is to increase flow over long distance. Changing the Discharge point to ground lvl (3ft) would change the flow rate much in that length of hose.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
phishfriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 12:34 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Louisville Ky
Posts: 39
I have the same water changer.Mine works. Just fine make sure you have the rubber gasket on where the hose connects to the sink adapter and that all the adapter parts are tight.If it still doesn't work take it back.The sink adapter is just a copy of a water bed filler emptier except a water hose was used for the beds instead of the clear vinyl hose.
__________________
Ronnie05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 12:23 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 670
Quote:
Originally Posted by phishfriend View Post
Have you try to start a siphon on a 50 hose!?! Its not going to happen with lung power thats for sure. Lol The pump is to increase flow over long distance. Changing the Discharge point to ground lvl (3ft) would change the flow rate much in that length of hose.
Who said to siphon using lung power? I stated that the pump is a very slow pump- even mines @ 400GPH is slow. It was to change the pump to one that pumping more water flow. Unless you dont mind the slow pump. I switch it around at time.

Sometimes I do it like this;
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...it-282183.html

Other times I start a siphon the 50ft waterhose. Point is if you have low water pressure you will be wasting water like crazy and be there forever. Water pressure is very not strong and at the same time I can water the plants and lawn. If you live in apt. I understand that this might not be an option.
__________________
Rare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 01:21 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
phishfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: VIRGINIA BEACH,VA
Posts: 1,527
I thought you meant to gravity siphon it. Sry I misunderstood. Now that my brain is working again. Thats a great idea
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
phishfriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.