Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-14-2009, 11:07 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
angelflyintohigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Mighigan
Posts: 15
Please Help :( Overflow System

I have bought a used aquarium set up. The tank is 125 and has a bio ball AquaClear filter system. We have it all hooked up except for the overflow system. We cannot figure out what it is that makes the water flow over into the overflow. I don't know if something is missing or what. We are at loss! I am wondering if someone could tell me or show me a picture of what this should look like or maybe a list of what parts may hook up to the overflow. Please help! I am near the point of tears.
__________________

__________________
angelflyintohigh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2009, 11:50 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
newfound77951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: St Petersburg FL
Posts: 2,114
Does your tank have an internal or external overflow? i.e. is there a black box (or boxes) inside the tank, either in the corner or along the back wall with slots in it, or is there an external, hang-on-the-back thing that kind of looks like a filter?

I'm not an expert on overflows but there are lots of other folks here who are, and they will need to know what kind of overflow you have. Pictures would be the best help but any kind of description will do.
__________________

__________________
newfound77951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 12:28 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
angelflyintohigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Mighigan
Posts: 15
Thank you for responding!!

The overflow hangs on the outside of the tank and then it has a skimmer basket that is attached and hangs on the inside. It has the U tube but I see nothing that can draw the water into the overflow?? I will add a couple of pictures so you can all see. I am so frustrated as we worked on this all day and just gave up. I am so upset as I have the sea salt and all of those types of things coming on Monday and was so in hopes of getting this all ready this weekend so I could start the water circulating on Monday.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 218.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	73.0 KB
ID:	17926   Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 220.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	72.5 KB
ID:	17927  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 219.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	40.2 KB
ID:	17928  
__________________
angelflyintohigh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 12:36 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
angelflyintohigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Mighigan
Posts: 15
angelflyintohigh Added: the second picture shows all that there is for the skimmer. Just the U tube so I can't see how it will ever get into the overflow. There has to be something missing here. I have never had a set up like this one so I am at a loss.
__________________
angelflyintohigh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 01:12 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
newfound77951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: St Petersburg FL
Posts: 2,114
I am sure someone else will chime in....probably tomorrow, though, as there aren't too many night owls like us....

Be patient....your pics will help a lot and with the knowledge on this site your questions will get answered soon.
__________________
newfound77951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 01:37 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
krap101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 6,082
Send a message via AIM to krap101
I'm not totally sure about the question, but I'll try to answer it as I see it. Once the siphon starts, and water flows down the tube, it will lower the level of the water in the overflow box. Now since the level in the overflow box is lower than that in the tank/prefilter box, it will start a siphon, sucking water from the prefilter box into the overflow box. Also you need to try to get all the air out of the u-tube, as the siphon won't start with it in there.

Never really worked with overflows myself, but I'm working on the conceptuals. HTH
__________________
~ Danny
krap101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 05:15 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
check out link under wet/dry filter...The black box with the slots goes in your tank, the other box hangs on to the tank on the outside and the U tube brings water from the inside box to the outside box and down to your filter or sump and then back to the display tank....
__________________
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 05:26 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
angelflyintohigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Mighigan
Posts: 15
I cannot believe it but now I have discovered a leak and had to spend all night draining this tank. Can you please tell me what type of sealer I should or should not use? I know where the leak is but I am not sure what kind of sealer would be safe for saltwater fish. Thank you.
__________________
angelflyintohigh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 05:32 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Is your tank glass or acrylic? if it's glass then use Dap Aquariums sealant 100% silicone clear. If it's acrylic then you will need an acrylic sealer. You could get it from a glass shop or hardware store.
__________________
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 05:38 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
angelflyintohigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Mighigan
Posts: 15
It is glass. I will go to the hardware this morning. Thank you so much for the information.
__________________
angelflyintohigh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 09:11 AM   #11
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
For your overflow. You adjust the box so that the lip of the overflow is below the water line (so it fills). Then the thing you have to do is get the water to flow through the tubes and over the back of the tank into the back chamber so it can drain. You need to remove the air so the siphon starts.

Take a small airline hose, shove it up the tube up the siphon tube and suck the air out. Good idea to have 2 people as you need the return pump running at the same time so the water level stays consistent and can continue to overflow and... well.... keep the cycle going.

Good luck. The first few times it can be nerve racking

Melev's Reef - How to start an overflow box
__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 12:41 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
angelflyintohigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Mighigan
Posts: 15
Is this tank repairable? If I seal it with the weight of the water and the gravel will it hold? My husband says he don't think it will because he beleives they pressure seal them when they are made. Has anyone out there been able to repair one of these and have it hold up. I am not sure what to do now. (it is a 125 gallon tank)
__________________
angelflyintohigh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 01:08 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jose7878's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hammonton, NJ
Posts: 577
Yes the tank is repairable.with some silcone and 24hrs of letting it cure you shoould be okay. here's a link of a member who replaced a whole glass panel and th e tank worked great afterwards.

\http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ir-110061.html
__________________
**********Visit my build thread*********
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...al-193525.html
jose7878 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 04:08 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Just do the inside and be sure that it is dry.....let set for whatever the tube says.
good luck
T.
__________________
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 05:09 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ezy33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco's Barbary Coast
Posts: 2,545
Send a message via ICQ to ezy33
I use a length of 1/4" air line tubing to start the siphon. Insert into the U tube to the top of the bend then suck out all of the air.
Make sure the sump return line has a small hole to break the siphon or else it will flood the sump. The hole should be between pump off and pump running water levels.
__________________
Not one shred of evidence supports the notion that life is serious.
ezy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 10:21 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
angelflyintohigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Mighigan
Posts: 15
Yesterday we worked on the tank to get all the old sealer off. After cleaning all of that we did get it resealed. Oh please keep your fingers crossed that it works. I will fill it tomorrow and see what the outcome will be. I sure am praying that we did everything right. Once it will hold the water without leaking we will go back to trying to get the overflow to do its job. I had no idea about the small tube.You will remove the tube then once the water comes out? I am so appreciative for all of the advice you all have shared with me. I will let you know how it turns out. I will be back on soon good news or bad, Again thank you for now
__________________
angelflyintohigh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 04:46 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Good luck!!!
__________________
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 08:01 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
angelflyintohigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Mighigan
Posts: 15
It is working!!!!!

Thank you all so much for all the wonderful advise! I removed all the old sealer from the tank and resealed the whole thing and it is up and running. Thank God an all of you I have the filter working now and I am so ready to get on with adding some stock to it. I honestly would have never thought to take the air out of the u tube to start the overflow. Wow, what a ordeal. I hope now I can sit back and enjoy it. I had almost gave up and then I found this site. I am so glad I have joined I am sure that I will learn a whole lot more from you all. Again thank you.
__________________

__________________
angelflyintohigh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, overflow, stem, system

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
overflow hottievols General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 08-14-2009 05:19 PM
HOB overflow Box Vs. Internal overflow box FishFrik Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 09-10-2006 12:36 AM
How do i get more water from my overflow to my W/D system? Kafer Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 03-21-2006 07:49 PM
Eco-System 40 HOT System riptide Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 11-23-2003 12:12 AM
Ok. I need help creating an overflow system kidafius DIY Projects 6 10-21-2003 09:16 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.