54g corner...general questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

frenchpea2002

Aquarium Advice Activist
I have some experience with tropical fish, and my dad just bought my mom a tank with all the setup, of course without consulting me, despite my mom telling him to, so basically getting anything and everything the guy told him to get... :roll: I told him I'd send him for my tank next, so long as he pays! :lol:

Here's what he got:
*54g All-Glass corner bowfront tank and glass cover
*Rena Filstar xP3
*Hydor eth (external thermal heater) 201
*Flora Base (4 or 5 bags)
*Some sort of CO2 filter thing, I'm not sure, he couldn't explain it to me, but no CO2 tank, no fizz things, my mom said something about chaning something out maybe monthly or every 6 months...I'm really not sure, I think it cost around $200.

So, what do you guys think about this? Any suggestions? It's her Mother's Day present, so we'll be setting it up in the next few days. I'm just wondering about the flora base. I've heard that it raises the hardness of the water, which is something we definantly do NOT need! Our water is already hard and alkaline, and my mom is going south american... Are there any substrate suggestions you guys can make? What about filter media? I was thinking we coudl put peat in one or two of the sections of the filter to help lower the pH, would this be a good idea? anything else you can think of?

Wow that setup sounds potentially fantastic. I've always wanted a corner setup..

i've heard peat is quite effective, keep lots of driftwood and solid inert rocks that will not mess with the water hardness or ph.

all the best,

Matt.

A friend of mine geologist/tank builder wrote this article for our local forum, hope it clears up a few things.