Aquarium Rookie -- Planted, Fishless Cycling Questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cloretta

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi there! I’m brand new to the online community and just set up my tall, freshwater 20 gallon tank yesterday (8/16). This is my very first time cycling a tank, not to mention it’s also my very first planted tank. I have several questions that I would love some advice on:

1. Are daily water parameter checks frequent enough?

2. How do I go about interpreting my water parameter results? I’ve found contradicting information from various threads regarding acceptable ranges. Here were my results at 11:30a today (8/17):
Ammonia: 4.0 ppm

Nitrite: 0.0 ppm

Nitrate: 0.0 ppm

Phosphate: 0.5 ppm

pH: 7.6

High pH: 7.4

KH: 53.7 ppm

GH: 143.2 ppm

3. How do I know when to do water changes?

4. I am currently following Seachem’s planted aquarium dosing chart (http://www.seachem.com/downloads/charts/Plant-Dose-Chart.pdf). I completed the dosing for Day 1 (Flourish, Flourish Excel, Flourish Phosphorous, Flourish Nitrogen) in addition to adding Stability and Prime. Is this an OK guide to follow?

Livestock:
- 1 Anubias lanceolata
- 1 Anubias afzelli
- 1 other unidentified Anubias
All are planted in Seachem Fluorite Black.

Equipment:
- Finnex Planted+ 24/7 SE Fully Automated LED Light
- Eheim Jäger Aquarium Thermostat Heater (75W)
- Fluval 106 External Canister Filter

I know there’s a lot of information, but I’ve been researching and planning all summer so that I can have a healthy, successful tank.

Any other bits of advice or tips would be greatly appreciated. I’ll make sure to add daily parameter / picture updates as well.

Thank you guys!