[B]Nitrites arrived 2 days ago, Now what?[B/]

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

InfernoST

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hi Everyone
Finally the nitrite made their appearance and the ammonia went south which is all good but now I'm fighting with the Nitrites constantly hitting the dangerous end of the scale causing me to perform 50% WC twice a day to keep them under control. Is this normal? It took 3 weeks for nitrites to show up, any idea how much longer before the nitrates make their appearance?

FYI: I'm cycling the tank with fish. (Ooooops, this wont happen a 2nd time, it's to stressful)

Thanx All :rolleyes:

I'm new at this, but you should buy some beneficial bacteria from the store to kick start the process and neutralize the nitrites. Or ask the store for some of their filter media. Or ask a friend for some.

If you are performing 50% water changes, the process will take longer with less new water, but the levels will be higher.

Just my two cents. I saw you didn't have any answers so I thought I would chime in. Good luck!

Greeny.

your best bet would be to get some filter media or various tank media from a clean fully cycled tank(established for a few months) to kick start the process, the artificial bacteria wont work, they only maintain between certain temperatures that lfc's you buy from dont regulate by, the only one that has slightly been proven to work is "Bio-Spira", but you have to get it refidgerated, and get it home really fast to make sure they survive.

If you are performing 50% water changes, the process will take longer with less new water, but the levels will be higher.