Beginner with ph adjusting questioin

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hjsvt

Aquarium Advice Freak
I'm a beginner and with my kids I'm trying to get a small tank set up. I had a very small tank with a goldfish for a couple of years while in college and never spent much time on it and never seemed to have any problems. So we set up a tank and put a couple of goldfish and live plants in it and they lasted about a month. Doing my homework and research now. Thinking of maybe trying some platies on the next try. So I have several questions at this point and wondered if someone could answer them.

1. We have softened well water. It seems to be on the higher ph side but I don't have a good test kit yet (only strips) and so I don't know exactly what the ph is. I was reading about proper ph by API but it says not for live plants. We have live plants that we put in with the goldfish and I'd like to keep them alive while cycling the tank and maintain them. Do you have a recommendation for a ph down product that works and is safe for live plants? The reviews for the API ph down weren't very good on Amazon. It seemed from reviews that it takes alot to adjust a small amount but then it didn't last long.

2. Can we keep the live plants alive while fishless cycling?

Thank so much for the help. I'm sure I'll have a bunch more questions.

Welcome to AA !! ??