Carbon dioxide high - help please

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Cato

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi all,

I am new to this hobby. So here we go. I got a fish tank. Set it up. Tried many best. Testing the water every day. PH and Ammonia and the 6in1 Test. I bought everything which was there to help me looking at the water.

And then 2 guppies died after 3 days being with me. As soon as they came they were Swimming on top of the tank. Constantly. Me looking this up. Maybe Carbon Dioxide too high. Me running to the shop buying an air pump and this pipe. (See picture). In between ammonia little high and PH. Both controlled wirh Ammonia block and PH down. And then again high next day. Suddenly. And I can’t get the carbon dioxide down. One day showing good. Next day showing bad. 6in 1 showing different PH than the liquid test. I searched and searched and searched. Please help me. Also one small pecto died. I have all pictures attached. Not in th picture is aqua safe I have used to condition the water when I started the setup a few days ago.

Please advise kindly. Thanks so much.

Attachments

• B31C1793-A8A2-44B0-B10E-BB869A8032DC.jpg
    B31C1793-A8A2-44B0-B10E-BB869A8032DC.jpg
    28.4 KB · Views: 24
  • 03D2D91E-B14B-41E8-8C9A-E2E40C69CAB9.jpg
    03D2D91E-B14B-41E8-8C9A-E2E40C69CAB9.jpg
    257.1 KB · Views: 25
  • B90624E5-C167-4F8A-B2C2-77B4091FFACF.jpg
    B90624E5-C167-4F8A-B2C2-77B4091FFACF.jpg
    228.8 KB · Views: 24
  • 6291C44F-2F2C-437B-8E3E-ABA7E9494554.jpg
    6291C44F-2F2C-437B-8E3E-ABA7E9494554.jpg
    250.8 KB · Views: 26
Last edited:
This is new one for me. Ive never come across an issue with too high CO2 except where people are injecting it into a high tech planted tank where they want the high CO2.

I hope someone who has seen this before chips in, but ill give you my opinion for what its worth.