Did I buy a good enough light for soft corals

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gwolfe

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello all,
Yesterday I rode over to Petco to buy a light for my 20 Gallon Long FOWLR tank. I am new at reef tanks, and am in the stages of upgrading. So anyways, I talked to the manager, who told me that for a 20 Long, I should get the 24 In. Zoo Med Coral Sun Actinic 420. The box says it's 18
Watts. Would this be enough for me to put soft corals or even an anemone in? Here's a link for more details: http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B003C5PQZ4/ref=redir_mdp_mobile/175-5960910-1543862
Thanks,
Garrett

This is just my opinion, but generally the rule of thumb is 5 watts per gallon, which would be you at 100 watts for your tank. I really don't think you are going to have much success with an 18 watt light.

If you really want to get into the hobby, you really need to do this the right way. When I say these things it scares people away, but you are going to get frustrated if you are looking to not spend a lot of money. You are better off with sticking to a fish only tank.

Hope this helps. If you want to go cheap, at the very least, with having some success, I would go with something like this.

Coralife Aqualight Power Compact Fixture With Single 50/50 Lamp

I would return the light and get something more appropriate.

A dual bulb is the least you should be running.

If you want a cheap 4 bulb fixture try fishneedit.com. With 4 bulbs you can grow anything almost and it's cheap. :)

Thank you!
Just wanted to clarify!!