Driftwood or Rocks

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

beginner on the loose

Aquarium Advice Regular
What is the best setup in a 20 gallon tank with sand and planning to have the take obtain live plants (if it matters). Is driftwood better, or rocks? Please keep in mind I am a general beginner. Thanks for the help! kindof a short question but many responses is appreciated.

What is the best setup in a 20 gallon tank with sand and planning to have the take obtain live plants (if it matters). Is driftwood better, or rocks? Please keep in mind I am a general beginner. Thanks for the help! kindof a short question but many responses is appreciated.
Driftwood definitely for a planted tank. You can attach plants to it and rocks would just take up space that could have plants.

I always use DW and rocks together even in small tanks as I think it give the tank a natural look.

I agree. Driftwood would be the better of the two if you want to pick just one. Easier for plants to sink their roots into and some fish like wood to nibble on.

Not trying to hijack this thread. I thought maybe I could ask a question to add to or complement the thread.

Where is the best place to get driftwood and best way to attach plants to it? Plus is the fake decorative driftwood at petsmart and other places ok or will the plants not attach them them over time like real driftwood?

Additionally, is driftwood buoyant? If so how is that remedied?

Not trying to hijack this thread. I thought maybe I could ask a question to add to or complement the thread.

Where is the best place to get driftwood and best way to attach plants to it? Plus is the fake decorative driftwood at petsmart and other places ok or will the plants not attach them them over time like real driftwood?

Additionally, is driftwood buoyant? If so how is that remedied?