Fishless cycle

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Keds195

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi I set up my tank yesterday. I'm very new to tropical fish but I'm trying to read up as much as possible so I don't jump in feet first and get it wrong.
I'm very interested in doing a fishless cycle. As I don't want to put fish in potential danger. I've read up about using fish food to do the cycle. Has anyone done this? If so roughly how long does it take to complete the cycle? And how much food and how often do I put it in the tank? Thank you

I have not done a fish LESS cycle but from what I've read from those who have, pure ammonia is much easier because you can control the dosage, 2nd best is a raw shrimp. If you choose to do food if get pantyhose, cut the foot part out, put the food (you can do this with the shrimp too) in it & put that into the tank, less mess, easier to clean up. The amount is dependent on tank size.

Alright mate I'm South Wales too, it's hard to find straight ammonia without any additives. Homebase do one but I tried fishless cycle with it but it contained a small amount of perfume. I used biomature bought from eBay in my 90 litre, inbox me if you want a link. Just make sure you have a liquid testing kit

I've bought an api liquid test kit off eBay should be here by the weekend. If I decide to do a cycle with fish. How long do I have to wait before I put a small number of hardy fish in?

You don't have to wait at all, the fish will provide you with the ammonia source, just make sure the water in the tank is treated and you keep the ammonia levels to below .25 what filter will you be running

Just to add I know mrs h recently competed a fish in cycle so she's your girl if that's what your planning.