Fishless Cycling

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Guesttrash

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi!

I’m extremely new to this, having bought my first tank a little over a month ago. I went to a Maidenhead aquatics branch to buy all my supplies, after doing research and them being a reputable nearby fish keeping company.

With their advice I got an 18L tank, an internal filter, a heater, and within the tank lid is a fixed LED light (I may be able to source a link to the details of my tank, which the light and filter came with) and heater (separately bought.)

I have some live plants in the tank, a piece of driftwood, along with marimo moss balls. The person I spoke to advised me to take on a fishless cycle, and supplied me with AquaCare Bio Boost, and AquaCare tap water conditioner. I have followed the instructions on each of these since filling my tank. I also use King British Plant food for the plants.

The person I spoke to however told me it’d take 10days to have my tank cycled and ready for fish. Although through some basic searching I understood it to be better to leave this longer, and as I was going on holiday a week after, starting my tank up, I let this happen. I then went back to my local store and took in a water sample.

Unfortunately I was not able to get a fish, this was two weeks ago, and had been told that my nitrates are showing well but there was an ever so slight high number of nitrites. I was then told that give it a few days it’d be perfect.

Long story short, I am here two weeks after the initial ‘a couple days’ comment, and my Nitrite levels have not changed at all, and I’m still unable to get a fish. Oh, and one of my plants has suddenly started to brown, even blacken in some spots.