Goldfish in Distress??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bollyeyes

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello all. I’m new here so hope this is the right place to post ?. I’m no expert with fish keeping but several years ago I had a very well established koi pond. 8 year ago my MIL kindly brought my kids a goldfish in a bowl ?. Obviously I ended up buying a tank and having no idea about fish keeping except what I knew about ponds. Fast forward and I now have a 120litre fish tank with a few shrimp 3 minnows and the original goldfish. Because of the tank upgrade another family member gifted the kids a baby plec. I know they get huge and it isn’t something I would have ever bought.
My goldfish has always pecked at the bottom and as I like to call it pebble dashes the rest of the fish with pebble bombs. Tbh he is a bit of a menace and railroads anything in his way ?. I noticed the plec as it got a little bigger would fly out it’s log towards the goldfish but nothing really happened. He’s now bigger and I’m noticing he’s chasing the goldfish around the tank. Over the last week I’ve noticed that my goldfish behaviour has completely changed. He no longer pecks at the ground and is constantly swimming into the filter and I mean constantly. He doesn’t move from there. At feeding time the plec will always end up chasing the goldfish and seems to try to suck him. I’ve read they do like the slime on goldfish. Again I’m a complete newbie and not really sure what I can do? And advice would be really appreciated xx

Seperate the pleco from the goldfish. You are right that plecos get a taste for slimecoat as they older and their dietary needs change. Goldfish are often easy targets. I dont see this ending well if you keep them together.