Golfish's swollen stomach

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sarah1987

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Can somebody tell me why my goldfish's stomach is swollen?
I've recently had some ammonia problems in the water which are being sorted..
Would be grateful of some expert advice....

could be constipation, if so, try feeding peas instead of flakes or their normal food for a day.

could be constipation, if so, try feeding peas instead of flakes or their normal food for a day.

Have given it some peas wil see if they help..
Dont think its pregnant, heard they dont really mate in tanks
Thanx for the info

Just wondering how big is your tank and how many fish are in it?? I am NO expert In goldfishies so idk just thought I would throw that out there if it was a possabality

Na it's scales look normal, its stomachs still bit swollen today but its not acting strangely anymore, seemed a little off balance yesterday prob through the bloated stomach..
Im keeping a close eye on it
Getting the ammonia tester kit tomorrow as the pet shop had to order some in as they dont get sold ..shows how many ppl care to do the tests round here!
mind you like me, they prob never heard of them til they research..
My tank is about 35gallon with 5 common goldfish