Hello!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cale

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi, I am fairly new to fish keeping, but managed to keep some goldfish for about a year (they are doing fine still) and decided to get a larger tank. I got a used tank on Craigslist with everything that guy had cheap. The tank turned out to be junk, but the stand and a few of the accessories made it a good deal for me. I ended up getting a new Aqueon 29 gallon tank kit that week from the local pet shop. Currently housing some community fish, along with some bamboo and some type of grass blade greenery, and a moss ball :)
I have been feeding two to three times a day (small amounts) aqueon tropical flake food, and about once every few days some wardley shrimp pellets. I have noticed the fish become very excited when the shrimp pellets are in the water and tend to chase each other.
I add about 2-3 gallons of water each week due to evap. Would this be acceptable for a water change? I know some folks are doing 50 percent weekly, but my water is uber clear.
Also, I am in need of some advice on water parameters and lighting. But I will find the correct arena for them as I am sure they are hot topics.
TTYL :thanks:

Hi. Welcome. Topping off is not a replacement for water changes. Esp if it is a newer tank (less than 2-3 months) ,weekly PWCs are essential. 50% is a lot.

First, test your water. Clear water can still kill your fish. Ammonia is invisible. I would do an immediate 25% water change on both tanks (assuming you still have goldfish ?).

Test your water. If you still have above zero Ammonia or Nitrite, change more water.

Use a gravel vac. Match temperature of new water to tank water ( doesn't have to be exact ) add Prime to the new water in your bucket, add to tank.

Goldfish especially in small tanks sometimes need 75% water changes weekly or more.