High Nitrite levels, No ammonia

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Gems

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey im very new to freshwater tanks. Over two-weeks ago I set up my 20litre freshwater tank. I treated the water adding prime. And then continued adding the recommended amount of stability daily. Its been roughly 15 days and I have the following readings:

Ammonia - 0ppm
Nitrite - 5.0ppm

I have dirty filters that i have placed in the top of the tank from my local aquarium running for days now. Still no change in Nitrite levels. I have done a 50% water change and still no change in Nitrite levels.

Possible issues/Things i did wrong

- Not enough water agitation/aeration how ever i see the plant leaves moving around, even towards the bottom of the tank )

RPoYi35.png

-The new quieter pump i bought does not push as much water as the last one since i had to ghetto rig it and there may be some some possible leaks in the piping before it reaches the top filter)

CrgSJtc.png

-Added prime directly to the tank after a water change.

-Slime growing in bottom of tank )

o0dtRzU.png

---

I am baffled as is my local aquarium shop owner

Any ideas out there as what is going wrong here.

Last edited by a moderator:
What do you understand about the nitrogen cycle?

Are you trying to do a fishless cycle or do you have fish in the tank? Have you added anything as an ammonia source?

If you havent an ammonia source where do you expect the ammonia to come from?

What did your local aquarium store owner tell you about how to cycle a tank?

What do you understand about the nitrogen cycle?

Are you trying to do a fishless cycle or do you have fish in the tank? Have you added anything as an ammonia source?

If you havent an ammonia source where do you expect the ammonia to come from?

What did your local aquarium store owner tell you about how to cycle a tank?