How long is it possible to have 0 ammonia?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ehult57

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello,
We are new to the hobby and started a 75 gallon freshwater community tank about 8 weeks ago. I am doing a fish-in cycle and started with 6 platy. After 4 weeks all of my levels were 0. At week 5 I purchased 6 serpae tetra for a total of 12 tropicals. At week 8 my levels are still 0. We have high pH (8) and I have done a few 30% water changes. All fish seem happy and healthy. Is this normal? I keep waiting for a spike in something but keep getting zeros. Thanks for your support!

I am no expert because I haven't cycled a tank before, but I am cycling my 20H right now. However, I have done tons of research, and have read tons of articles and posts on this forum. You didn't get a spike of anything ever?
It seems like your cycle finished on the 4 or 5 week mark. As long as your levels are at zero, you are fine...
Good luck! :D

What are your nitrites and nitrates at? What are you using to test?
Your ammonia and nitrites should stay at 0 once the tank has cycled.

I'm using the API master test kit. I may have gotten a 0.25 ammonia reading but it's so hard to tell the difference on the test kit between true "yellow" and "yellowish" green. I have never had any sign of nitrites or nitrates. I hope my aquarium experience continues to be this pleasant. I am a little paranoid after doing a good amount of research and hearing of other's problems. I'd like to add some more fish to the tank but I don't want to rush things.

You might want to take some of your water daown to a lfs to get it tested...don't do a pet store if you can...petsmart uses the strips...and as I hear are highly inacurate...