Just been given a river reef set up in bad condition

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Pebbles1983

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all.

I have just been given a 94 Ltr set up, with fish, live rock and some coral;

Clown
Maroon clown
Bangaii cardinal
Yellow tailed angel
Royal grammar

Large long spined sea urchin

Large leather coral which looks half dead
Mushroom coral

Everything in the tank with the exception of the tank seems fine, but I have a couple of issues;

1 - the salinity is at .031
2 - leather coral looks like it is struggling
3 - I have a lot of diatom on the sand bed which doesn't seem to want to go.
4 - any CUC I put it seem to die off quick so I am not buying anymore until I am more confident the tank is settled

Any advice you can offer would be awesome as I am pretty new to all this

Cheers

Steve

your salt level is way too high, that is more than likely why your leather is struggling. your going to want to lower it about .001 per day until it is 1.025-1.026. what are your ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, ph, mag, calcium and alkalinity? are you using RO/DI water?

As aquadrew mentioned you need to get your salinity under check an mainly first check your ph, nitrates, nitrites, ammonia and phosphate levels...

Hiw is your bangaii cardinal looking? They are the first to show stress if the water levels are out pf whack...

How often do you do water changes? And whats the quantity or water you change?

Also what is the temperature of water in your tank... Temp fluctuations can be a big problem...

salinity.

Check your reading again. 31ppt is one scale that is not high, its a smidgen low

1.031 is quite high.

Many will jump to the conclusion .031 means 1.031 instead of 31ppt. Unfortunately many new members are not aware of the standard references used.

salinity is normally expressed as Specific gravity not parts per thousand