New 20L (4.4gallon) Curve Edged Fish Tank.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

stevehicks123

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello. Just signed up to this site as it seems the friendliest forum I have come across and would like some general advice. Please note I am a complete novice at any of this but have done quite a bit of research (with conflicting results!)

Please could someone help with my (probably very basic) questions? And if at all possible give me a gentle nudge in the right direction? :)

I have picked up a conservatively sized fish tank, 20L here in the UK, I believe it's about 4.4gallons to you guys across the pond.

I know that it isn't huge so I wont be stocking it with tons of fish / shrimp etc. Could you guys advise on the following:-

* Should I keep it unheated? Less maintenance but restricts me to a smaller selection of fish. Should I heat it? (I have a filter and pump)

* Is two or three smallish fish the advised amount for this size of tank? If so could you specify some names that I may be able to pick up over here?

* The tank I have picked up looks like this (http://www.mjhub.biz/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/Decco_O_Fish_Tank_1.jpg) The black one on the left (This one isn't mine, its an example online before anyone comments on it) Given its shape I am slightly restricted to decoration options; does anyone have any clever ideas or throughts with regards to decoration?

Many thanks

Steve

Welcome to the forum, I'm pretty new myself but I might be able to help you out here.

As far as heating goes, I'd say yes to one, most any fish you get will need one, and even with cold water fish, it's best to keep the temp stable than let it fluctuate somewhere around room temperature. It's really not any more maintenance than unheated, just gotta glance at the thermometer once a day to make sure it's okay.