New member needing help w/Nano Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

magictam

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi Everyone
This is my first time entering the world of saltwater aquarium, though I have had freshwater before. Of course I leaped before I found resources and help so now I’m reaching out for help.

I purchased a 29 gallon Nano tank on September 10th, I can’t remember exact amounts, but I think it came with 20lbs live rock and large bag of live sand. I kept all equipment stock that came with the unit and added a heater temp average between 82-84). Set up tank and added salt water (average specific gravity 1.023-1.024).

Four weeks later, had water tested at aquarium store and they suggested I add snails and crabs and grass, added 10 crabs and 5 snails and a hunk of grass to the back of the tank.
A few weeks later, tested water again, all good, added a Damselfish and a Fire Shrimp (Damselfish died within 2 weeks, Fire Shrimp still going strong) and 2 frags (Toadstool & Goniopora).
Few weeks later, tested water, all good, added mated pair of Maroons and another plant.
Another few weeks, tested water, all good, added a Rose Bubble Tip Anemone and another frag.
Maroons wouldn’t leave the BTA alone. The female would chase the male off.
Noticed a lot of translucent shrimp like thinks crawling in the tank. Aquarium store said this was great. Added a Mandarin Goby.
Have lost a few crabs, added a few more over the weeks.
Snails are multiplying on their own. Didn’t know that was possible.

Did 20% water changes every 2-3 weeks and changed charcoal.
Once a week, rinsed charcoal bag out
Left lights on timer for about 8 hours a day.
Had been feeding fish 2 times a day.

It was looking pretty good. But shortly after the 1st of the year, I noticed that: